New Year New Gear

Time to try out some new toys! The holiday season brought some new gear into our lives. John got a new front rack and some new shoes. I got a new camera for documenting our adventures! And now to document the Magnolia Loop….AGAIN!

I promise I won’t recap every training ride. There is definitely a benefit to repeating the same routes often. It was 40 degrees on Saturday, so we needed something short and easy (mentally easy). Here we are in cold weather gear. No need for fancy high tech clothes. Just pull up your socks and get out there!

Keeping the shins warm

Keeping the shins warm

My new camera is waterproof and shockproof. I don’t have to worry about dropping it during action shots, and it should be able to withstand the rain. The old standard Coolpix got waterlogged after a rainy hike, and ever since then the lens would fog up frequently.

Not only is the camera shockproof, but it came with a strap that is long enough to wear around my neck. On this trip, I wore it the whole way. It was a shorter trip and I had a collared fleece on. No way would I attempt that for a long hot ride. But if we are in a scenic area, I can have the camera at the ready. You don’t even want to know the maneuvers I have tried to in the past to hold onto bike and camera.

Action shot down the Ship Canal Trail

Action shot down the Ship Canal Trail

Check out John’s newly installed front rack. He picked out the Salsa Down Under specifically for its low profile, and it just wasn’t fitting right. You know John…..it’s not about the ounces, it’s about being the most bad-ass single-speed tourer ever. He already is, but I guess there is always room for improvement. In case you ever try to install your own rack, this took about 4 trips to the hardware store for various bolts and spacers. It took a lot of patience and repeated attempts to get everything to line up properly. The finished product looks great!

Lookin good!

Lookin good!

Nothing new on the Salsa for now, although I did get some larger panniers so I can carry almost twice as much volume now. My bike has been sadly underutilized so far.

It was a beautiful afternoon for a ride. We played with some new toys. We didn’t let the cold scare us. We are still trying to figure out a winter season tour. The sunset is still before 5:00 pm for most of January, which really limits riding time.

Made it to Discovery Park this time

Made it to Discovery Park this time

Not enough daylight to wait for drawbridges!

Not enough daylight to wait for drawbridges!

Leave a Reply

